Latest News         rss icon

Candidates' Forum


Oct. 4, 2017 -- The IAPE Election Committee will be hosting two sessions to allow members to meet with and ask questions of our three candidates for the post of union president. The first session will take place at 1 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 10 in the Princeton offices of Dow Jones & Company. Session Two will take place Wednesday, Oct. 11 at 1211 Avenue of the Americas in New York.

The first session will be held in the Tokyo Room, second floor (building 5) in Princeton. Ellis Island, on the seventh floor at 1211, will be the site for the second session.

Refreshments will be served.

A call-in line will be available for members to listen to the proceedings (check your email for dial-in details). All members are welcome to attend and ask questions. Union members from other bureaus are encouraged to send questions for the candidates care of Members of the Election Committee will select and read some of those questions during the forums.

IAPE members will vote online for the positions of president and | More

Union Plus Benefits

Union Plus is a non-profit and the ONLY consumer benefits organization created and endorsed by the AFL-CIO. At Union Plus, our mission is to improve the quality of life for union members and their families, provide valuable benefits and services that strengthen the ties of union members to their unions and contribute funding to the labor movement. As current and retired union members, you are automatically eligible for your union's Union Plus Benefits. No fees, no waiting period, no hassle. Find your discounts today! - More

Updated: Candidate Statements

Sep. 19, 2017 -- This year, for the first time in recent memory, three candidates are running for election for President of IAPE 1096, while two candidates are running for Secretary. The IAPE Election Committee has declared candidates "elected" for all other Union officer and director positions. (Originally, four candidates were in the running for three Location Director - Mid-Atlantic seats. One of those candidates has withdrawn; Nicole Barker, Patricia Corley and Kimberly McDonnell-MacKenzie will be seated as Location Directors for | More

Service Awards

Sep. 29, 2017 -- Dow Jones employees who have reached ten, twenty, thirty or forty years of service anniversary dates since July 1st and who are waiting for an invitation to pick out their Dow Jones service award are in for an unpleasant surprise. That's because, unbeknownst to anyone who has not contacted the People Department to inquire about their own award, Dow Jones has unilaterally decided to eliminate the Dow Jones Service Award program. IAPE representatives were informed of this news yesterday during our monthly Labor/Management Committee meeting -- but only after we received | More

2017 Candidates

Sep. 8, 2017 -- In accordance with the rules for the 2017 election of officers, the following members in good standing have been properly nominated, have accepted those nominations, and will stand for election for the following positions: President/CWA Delegate Robert Johnson Robert Kozma Yogita Patel (Note: The nominee who receives the majority of the votes cast shall be declared elected. If no one nominee receives a majority on the first ballot, the vote shall be taken again. The two nominees having the greatest number of votes on the first ballot shall be nominees on the second | More

Nominations Open

Jun. 30, 2017 -- The IAPE Election Committee has declared the nomination period for the 2017 election of union officers open. Rules for this year's election follow, and are posted here. NOMINATION AND RULES FOR 2017 REGULAR ELECTION OF OFFICERS, LOCATION AND CLASSIFICATION DIRECTORS, AND CWA CONVENTION DELEGATES Notice is herewith given of the 2017 election of officers, CWA Delegates and all Location and Classification Directors, as provided by the bylaws of the Independent Association of Publishers' Employees (IAPE), The Newspaper Guild - | More

More Recent News

© 2017 IAPE 1096

Designed by: 13Nomad Creations